Pre-Departure Orientation

“All men dream; but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act out otheir dreams with open eyes, to make it possible.”

-Thomas Edward Lawrence (“of Arabia”)

Like many westerners before me, the Middle East has always been sort of an ethereal mass of political turmoil, toiling bedouins, and most importantly regular old oil.   My dream is to shed those cultural stereotypes and to learn about the reality of life in Jordan.

I hope that by placing my goals here on the internet in the light of Lawrence’s “day” that I have bound myself to a social contract under which my honor will not allow a betrayal.  As such this blog will serve as a depository for all cultural miscellany I come across.

Hopefully,

P.T. Karolyi

Published in: on January 27, 2011 at 12:52 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://biaahp.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/pre-departure-orientation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

