Hip to it

“You never give up (NO!)
You got to do it
Gotta do all the stuff that you love”

-ANDREW WK

We have been collectively thinking a lot about irony in American as of late.  Thankfully Andrew WK is around to be the most genuine guy in show business. What a straight shooter.

Cynicism is hard to maintain in Amman.  Starbucks is just another cafe.  The only international organization that is trying to kill us is the Rothschild family.  There is no cyanide in children’s toys, or there may be, but we don’t worry about it so much.  The two dudes in Iron Maiden t-shirts holding hands and kissing goodbye probably actually like Iron Maiden, and the shirts probably aren’t tailored.  I don’t know if its Arab culture, Islam, or maybe the topography of the region, but I think this is a very genuine place.

I am almost certainly projecting my intellectual whims onto the entire city, but there may also be some cultural truth to my hypothesis.

All of this is just mental preparation for my imminent trip to the Friday market.  The one major Ammanian tradition in which I have yet to partake is this weekly gathering of salesman from ‘cross our fine city.  A friend described the storied market as a huge, outdoor, thrift shop with oddly specific relics from the recent and international past.  It clearly has all the makings of a hipster’s wet dream.  As such, I think the appropriate challenge would be to appreciate it unironically as the locals seem to (this may just be a symptom of the language barrier, but I notice an inordinate amount of inappropriately slogan-ed evening wear).  We’ll have to see how I feel friday morning, but this is the goal.  Let me first couch this whole plan by mentioning again that I am the same person who is actively questing for a pair of cowboy boots to buy.

Conflicted,

PAUL TK

Published in: on April 20, 2011 at 4:06 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://biaahp.wordpress.com/2011/04/20/hip-to-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. If you are going for most excellent contents like me, only pay a visit this site
    all the time as it gives quality contents, thanks

  2. I read this paragraph completely about the comparison of hottest and earlier technologies, it’s awesome article.


Leave a Reply

