A Few Words in Defense of Our Country (Revisited)

“Events, dear boy, events.” (in regards to what dictates the broad policy of a given administration)

-Some Brit

So, I read an article  in the New Yorker and it quelled many of my fears that made up my previous post on this topic.  For anyone looking for reassurance about Obama’s foreign policy, look elsewhere.  For anyone looking for proof that he has one, this is a good place to start.

Nonetheless, Obama may be moving toward something resembling a doctrine. One of his advisers described the President’s actions in Libya as “leading from behind.” That’s not a slogan designed for signs at the 2012 Democratic Convention, but it does accurately describe the balance that Obama now seems to be finding. It’s a different definition of leadership than America is known for, and it comes from two unspoken beliefs: that the relative power of the U.S. is declining, as rivals like China rise, and that the U.S. is reviled in many parts of the world. Pursuing our interests and spreading our ideals thus requires stealth and modesty as well as military strength. “It’s so at odds with the John Wayne expectation for what America is in the world,” the adviser said. “But it’s necessary for shepherding us through this phase.”

leading from behind,

PT Karolyi

Published in: on April 26, 2011 at 1:08 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://biaahp.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/a-few-words-in-defense-of-our-country-revisited/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is very fascinating, You are a very
    skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for in the hunt for extra of your fantastic post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  2. Appreciating the persistence you put into your
    site and detailed information you offer. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from
    an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog?

    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking
    about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Many thanks

  4. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you
    really recognise what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally consult with my site =). We could have a hyperlink exchange arrangement between us

  5. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to
    assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  6. Very good information. Lucky me I discovered your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book marked it for later!


Leave a Reply

